I am such a fiddler … I can’t leave songs along (which has been made worse by Logic and Cubase etc:). At least when we recorded on tape that was virtually that.

So I am looking at some ‘Les Bicyclettes de Belsize’ songs again and scratching my head as to why I can’t get a good mix of a particular track, no matter how hard I try.

Then it hits me, right between my ears … the bass I programmed so acutely was done using completely the wrong notes! How did this happen? How did this pass me by. And what’s worse, this song ended up on a CD! I was mortified … but in the end, thanks to the part being corrected I was able to make all the other instruments fit. Who’s have thought playing the correct notes would make such a difference, eh?

I do sometimes wonder quite what it was I was thinking when I played a certain part. I guess that’s one of the downsides to doing-it-all-yourself; there’s no-one there to tell you something’s rubbish until it’s committed to tape (or binary code in the modern parlance).

To breathe or not to breathe … that is the question.

Agreed, leaving in those breaths before a line in a vocal do leave the track sounding natural and ‘real’ – especially in our synthesised, computerised musical environment. However, when yours sound like the vacuum cleaner has something inexplicable stuck in its nozzle then maybe it’s best to spend those extra few moments editing them out.

Living on video.

I spent the day wandering the length and bredth of London’s ‘Southbank’ yesterday – from the eastern side near The Design Museum, past the old wharfs (where they filmed one of my favourite films starring Bonar Colleano – ‘Pool of London’) http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0042851/?ref_=nm_flmg_act_23

I strolled past City Hall (no sign of Boris), took a picture of ‘Ken’s Bollock’, admired the HMS Belfast, battleship grey against a vibrant blue spring skyline and skipped past London Bridge, swerving selfie-stick wielding tourists and tone-deaf buskers running through their repertoires of R.E.M., Oasis and George Harrison covers.

I had with me my trusty video camera and a puppet prop, named ‘Johnny Handsome’ – who will star in my next project. Doing it myself was exhausting but the satisfaction gained at the end of a long, productive day is worth the toil. I only hope the results justify the perspiration.

 

Leave a Reply

